Don’t Quit your Day Job

I was introduced to someone at a party who was in the middle of writing a book. Our mutual friend knew I was a published author and thought it would be good for us to chat. She told me all about her book and how long she had been writing it and how in-depth it was. I was fairly encouraging until the end of this person’s spiel when she said, “How much money do you think I can make off it?”

downloadI was sort of taken aback, so I asked this person what she meant. She said that she didn’t want to go to all that effort of writing a book unless she would get a lot of money from it. Out of curiosity I asked, how much would be a good amount? She said $20,000.

I felt equally enraged and disappointed. I don’t write for money. I never have and probably never will. I write because I love it. I have 3 books out and I’ve been writing for 15 years. I haven’t just written 3 books, I’ve written nearly 20, plus short stories and scripts etc. When I meet people and I tell them for the first time that I’m an author, they ask if I do it full-time, as my sole income? No, I say, I have a “day job”. Then they breathe a sigh of relief. With all the money I’ve made from writing books over 15 years I could afford to quit work for about 2, maybe 3 weeks. If you take all the hours I write, all the hours I plan and plot my stories; all the character development I do in my head or on paper, all the rewrites and edits, the cents calculated per hour would be so small you wouldn’t be able to read it.

typed-manuscriptMy dream, as with many people I know, is to write full time, quit my day job and tap away all day at the keyboard while drinking coffee. I do believe that this is obtainable, however I would never stop writing just because there is no money in it. I love it too much. My first royalty cheque was actually larger than I thought and I remember thinking that it wasn’t real money because I didn’t really “work” for it. I got paid to do something I really loved. I planned on buying something amazing with it. I was going to get my book’s ISBN tattooed on me. But the money went into the account and was spent as money is normally spent. It was if I didn’t really believe I got paid to do something I love. I just kept writing. It never changed my opinion of it.

The person eventually emailed me their book. It was their first book, and it needed a lot of work. But I didn’t tell them that. I told them it was good. After one or two rejection letters, they put it on Kickstarter to fund it. They were asking for $8,000. Although I love the enthusiasm, it was a bit high. You don’t need that much to self-publish a book. The Kickstarter failed and I never heard from them again. I really do hope they’re still writing.

Don’t write for money, write because you love it.

Mitchell Tierney

Published in: on July 17, 2017 at 11:15 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://ouroborusbookservices.wordpress.com/2017/07/17/dont-quit-your-day-job/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Please take me off your mailing list.

    Thank you.

    Get Outlook for Android

    ________________________________

    • Hi Louise, The only way you can be on the ‘mailing list’ is if you subscribed. You will need to remove your subscription setting on your profile. We have no control of what you subscribe to. Thanks


Leave a Reply

